RSS

Dictators all around.

18 Sep

Sometimes the voices forget who is in charge. They think that, just because I brought them into existence, that they have a right to dictate how things work inside my own head. Write this now. Change this. I think – no, I know – you should use this instead. Yadda, yadda, yadda, blah, blah, blah. With all the things that they have to say I sometimes wonder if my voices have voices.

Wouldn’t that be interesting.

I’ve always found it annoying when a person looks at your situation and, suddenly, they are an expert on the matter. They can tell you all the things you do wrong, offer advice on the situation, and even tell you the things you are suppose to do next; and they do it all whether you asked or not. (Most of the time it’s ‘not’.)

“I see you’re wearing sandals on a cold day, let me tell you something about body temperature….” Then you’re stuck listening to the person educate you proper situational footwear and the effects on the body! How do they know all this stuff? Did they randomly happen to search WebMD for the subject and make it their mission to tell everyone they met? Or, the more likely story, they are giving their well thought out opinion in hopes that you’ll take them seriously.

Be grateful when you find a chance to leave that conversation.

My characters can be like that, thinking that they know better than I do and are able to produce better results. Now, I will admit, that sometimes by listening to what the voices have to say, I end up with a pretty good product! Other times….not so much. When they have successfully convinced me to do it their way, and it flops, I turn to the voices to see them whistling innocently. Some even have the nerve to say that I shouldn’t have listened! (“Don’t know why you’re listening to me….”)

There are a lot of things in life that try to dictate your actions, tell you what you should do and how you should do it. At the end of the day the one who has to deal with the reality of your actions is you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2013 in ramblings, writing

 

Tags: , , ,

What do you have to say?

 
